Mount of leaves and flowers

My muse granddaughter Monica in Romania (lookaround99.wordpress.com) sent me this photo to go with my haiku. Perfect and lovely. Hydrangeas in Japan are mostly purple because the soil is acid, but in Europe they are pink because the soil is alkali. At least that’s what I hear.🙂

Mount of leaves and flowers

Hydrangeas by a street tree

The sidewalk narrowed

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Old resident of Tokyo. Writer. Haiku poet. 葦享(あしあきら)。著書:(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mount of leaves and flowers

    • AshiAkira says:

      Ah thank you. I certainly want to use it on my post. By the way, did you read what I wrote about hydrangeas’ colors in my comment on you post about pink hydrangeas? I also sent you a haiku in response to your recent posting of haiku. xoxo🙂

      • mopana says:

        Sorry, but WordPress did not announce me about your comment and, my fault, I didn’t check. I saw it now and I will respond you. About what Haiku are you talking about, Ashi? xoxo❤

      • AshiAkira says:

        You posted a haiku about morning coffee, and I wrote one in response to it. It went:

        Your coffee’s fragrance
        Wafts here over land and sea
        With your sunshine smile🙂

  1. lorriebowden says:

    They are so lovely🙂 and so funny as I plan to post soon with pink AND purple hydrangeas😉 Have a beautiful day.

    • AshiAkira says:

      Yes, they are. I’m not sure what I say about the colors of hydrangeas and acidity, etc. because they are more or less multicolored – purple, blue, white, pink, etc. May be they are new breeds, but at least hydrangeas mean caprice in the flower language.🙂 Likewise.

      • lorriebowden says:

        I believe what you said is true about the color being affected by the acidity of the soil. My Momma used to put coffee grinds in the soil of her hydrangeas and the color would indeed get very dark…purple/blue. 🙂

      • AshiAkira says:

        Um. Then I might try egg shells by crushing them and putting them into the soil to have pink hydrangeas.🙂

      • lorriebowden says:

        Oh my gosh!!!! She did that too🙂 I just remembered when I read your words! Have a wonderful day

  2. mopana says:

    You know, Ashi, in Romania people dry them and paint them in a lot of colors.:))

  3. Sidewalk narrowed, nice touch.

  4. Annika Perry says:

    Beautiful haiku and lovely photo from your granddaughter. I have seen both colours here in Europe. I have a blue/purple one in our garden as this was one my grandmother grew in Sweden and it always reminds me of her and their garden out on the islands.

    • AshiAkira says:

      Thank you. Hydrangeas seem to grown in every corner of the world. They bloom in different colors depending on their different environment. They are all beautiful.🙂

Leave a Reply

