Autumn dragonflies

Autumn dragonflies

Inspecting the rain damage

To the lotus pond

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Autumn dragonflies

  1. First heat. Then rain? Does Japan usually have such extremes?

    • AshiAkira says:

      No, it was extremely unusual this year.

      • I’m sorry to hear that. Our country has many problems too. An epic drought out west. Floods in the south. Even we in the northeast have had unusually cold winters and hot summers. Hope it eases up for you soon!

      • AshiAkira says:

        I hear of your problems there by the news. Hope it eases up for you soon, too.

      • Now it’s cold! Still not enough rain. What is with this wacky weather!

      • AshiAkira says:

        It was cold here this morning. The forecast says it will be very warm this afternoon and cold again this evening. Unusual, and wacky too, for this time of year. Hope you are well.

      • Ha! Do we live in the same country and don’t know it? I would so love to share a cup of tea with you! Hope you are well too!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Looks like it to be so. But I just got out of my bed and ready for a morning cup of tea. I suppose you are getting ready to go to bed after an evening cup of tea. We can still have it together – I mean simultaneously – anyway.

      • We will have to plan that tea! I drink green tea. I’m sure yours is something more exotic- and not brewed in a bag! But that’s just me,making assumptions!
        They are predicting a poor foliage season here in the northeast. More brown leaves then red or gold because of the dry conditions. Too bad for all the leaf peepers!

      • AshiAkira says:

        It was unusually hot even for a summer in August here this year and then rather cold with lots of rain in September. The rain caused waist-high floods in some areas near Tokyo. The tree leaves are starting to fall even now before changing their colors as they should in autumn. The weather is getting really wacky. Maybe the climate change is the reason.
        We have tea bags for black teas but not for green teas, our traditional tea. I’m sure green-tea bags are available, but we just don’t use them. We still put the green tea leaves in a small pot for steeping for 2-3 minutes in hot water and then pour it into a small tea cup for drinking. This is so time consuming that many of us go for black teas or even coffee. But they say the green tea is good for your health, and I try to drink it as much as possible.
        I think we are 14 hours ahead of you in time. So I may be having a cup of green or black tea at night when you are having one at breakfast. It’s almost in the night here and I’m about to have a cup before going to bed. So goodnight and you have a nice day. 🙂

      • Isn’t it a wonderful thing, being able to connect with someone clear across the globe? I love learning these things about your culture and comparing notes. We have green tea bags- every variety. It takes a gourmet to steep tea here. I’m thinking its time to switch to brewing my own. Makes it more of an event- something to enjoy. I have some lovely tea pots that were my mothers. It’s time to use them!
        And sleep well my friend! My tea hit the spot!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, I think you should use the tea pots your mother left for you. Brew your tea to suit your taste. You’ll find it a nice quiet moment.

      • Thank you! I will. And I’ll imagine you in Japan enjoying yours as well!

      • AshiAkira says:

        That’s good. Yes, it’s traditional here.

  2. Love the use of inspecting, you can see them hovering checking…

  3. Heartafire says:

    a delightful image!

    • AshiAkira says:

      Thank you. (Your other comment disappeared when I tried to write my reply. There was a message written in red letters but it also disappeared before I could read. It often happens to other comments too. Wonder why.)

  4. BroadBlogs says:

    Nice. And how nice to have a Lotus pond.

  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    That is lovely and refreshing.

Leave a Reply

