(So nice to be back on my blog)

(So nice to be back on my blog

My computer was down and so I was

Got a new computer Windows 8.1

Which is frighteningly different from my old Vista

They say you can’t teach an old dog a new trick

Let that be a challenge anyway. :))

PS I still can’t load pics.

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to (So nice to be back on my blog)

  1. had the same problem. i wonder if i can still recover some of my files
    ;D

  2. mike says:

    i went to wondows8, it didn’t work. it even quit updating. I’m back on windows7 and blocked the windows10 free upgrade

  3. SalvaVenia says:

    Take your time. 🙂

  4. weggieboy says:

    I went through this when my computer crashed last spring. You have my sympathy! I still don’t have a lot of enthusiasm for the newer OSs, and I blocked the “free” Windows 10 update, too. I’ll try to stay with Vista as long as possible, though I know the day will come when Microsoft won’t support it any longer….! (The term for that time is “Armegaddon”! LOL! 🙂 )

    • AshiAkira says:

      Some operating systems like iTunes and Twitter don’t support Vista anymore, besides my cmputer with the Vista OS was mechanically broken and can’t start up any more. So I was more or less forced to get a new one and 8.1 was the only one available at the shop. So I must stick to it and accepted the offer for the free 10. I hope I won’t be hacked.

  5. Ron says:

    Windows 10 — NO NO NO! It is purposely loaded with adware which will make your life a nightmare. PLEASE say “No” to Windows 10!!

    Ron

  6. Yoshiko says:

    I’m using windows 7

    • AshiAkira says:

      I wish I got Windows 7, too.

      • Yoshiko says:

        Understand. It is s different feeling.

      • gigoid says:

        Welcome back, my friend… If you still have the disc/CD for the OS on your old computer, that came with it when you bought it…. Then, just wipe Windows 8 or 10 off the hard drive, (go to DOS prompt, type in “format C:”, hit enter, and wait… It will all go away… Just be sure before hitting enter…)… Then, reload it with your copy of Windows Vista, or better, if you can get a copy of Windows 7… Either one is better than 8 or 10, and all the usual stuff works fine for me with 7… You own that copy of Vista, and are allowed to put it on as many machines as you wish…

        Or, you could be adventurous, load the hard drive with Linux, or even Ubuntu, and free yourself from Windows forever…. There are now a number of open source software suites that will mimic all that Windows can do, without all the extra, unnecessary BS…

        Good luck with it, whichever you do…

        Good to have you back…

        gigoid, the dubious….

        😎

      • AshiAkira says:

        Thank you for such a good advice. But unfortunately I traded in my old computer together with everything that came with it. I guess I’m stuck with the new one, and I think (hope) I’m beginning to get used to it. 🙂

      • gigoid says:

        Aye, there is a learning curve, slow at first, for any new techniques… It’s a good habit to keep all discs you buy with computers; they can come in handy later, and are yours to keep when you purchase them. The store cannot insist on getting them back with the machine itself on a trade in…

        Best of luck with your new one…

        gigoid

  7. GP Cox says:

    You think Windows is a change – wait till you see the new Reader page – changes everywhere!

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    Now I have gotten to this post. Good luck!

  9. Great to have you back. I’m sure you’ll get there.

  10. It can be scary and frustrating to step up in the tech world. Up until last December, I was using a very old XP–now I have a used laptop with Windows 7, much improved!

  11. brendalovelady says:

    missed you. glad you are back

  12. Mike says:

    Welcome back! 🙂

  13. Me Otherwise says:

    Wow you put that well in verse!!!

  14. You will be able to soon. Be patient.

  15. Heartafire says:

    So glad you are back online, I hope you like the new version. I heard that windows will not soon no longer support version seven which is what I have now, and that I will have to upgrade to v 10. sigh!
    good Ashi, glad you are back with your lovely writing.

    • AshiAkira says:

      So nice to see you again. I don’t know if I like the new version. I still have too much trouble with it. I’ll be trying anyway. Good luck when you have the new version. 🙂

  16. Congratulations and welcome back!

Leave a Reply

