Beauty without scent

Beauty without scent

Multicolor hydrangeas

So bright in the rain

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Beauty without scent

  1. 梅雨といえば、やっぱり紫陽花ですね!

    • AshiAkira says:

      そうですね。毎日「ハイク」を書いて、数日ごとに幾つかブロッグに載せるのですが、今日の分をまとめ、ブロッグに載せようとした時Ibaraさんの写真を見ました。流石、と思いました。急きょ、アジサイのものを書き、載せました。Ibara さんの写真には及びませんが…

  2. My dog must think that hydrangeas have a scent, as she keeps sticking her nose in them! Obviously, we humans don’t have the same developed sense of smell.

    • AshiAkira says:

      Dogs can hear sound that we humans cannot. So I wouldn’t be surprised if they can sense a scent we cannot. Further, they, and animals things as far as that goes, might have receptors to sense something that humans can’t even imagine exists in this world. 🙂

      • I’m sure animals can easily sense all sorts of things that humans cannot, even the paranormal. Sometimes I wonder if early humans could sense a lot more, when life was all about basic survival and interaction with nature. It’s quite possible that our senses have become dulled by living in so-called civilised society.

      • AshiAkira says:

        Not only early humans, sometimes I suspect we still retain some of mysterious ability to sense something. Some decades ago, for example, my wife would suddenly wake up and jump out of the bed at around 2 A.M. and sit to wait. A few seconds later, our daughter who was then going to a nursing school and didn’t want to stay in the school dormitory would come home and open the door. She was so tired from some sort of special training at school she would throw her bag onto the floor and collapse. My wife would run to her to help her up. I always wondered how my wife would know in her deep sleep that her daughter would be home in a few seconds and would get up to wait. I heard a lioness has a strange ability of communicating with her cup in a distance. May be female humans had the same ability and they, though vaguely, still retain it. I told my friends about this and some of them nodded in agreement. As you noted, our senses may have dulled, and we may be missing knowing something we must know.

      • I love that story about your wife. It sounds like an example of telepathy. I often find myself thinking about a person when I’m out walking before they’ve rounded a corner and I’ve seen or heard them approaching. Or I might be in the house, when suddenly someone will comes to mind out of the blue and the next minute the telephone goes and that person is at the other end. Also, my dog appears to be able to read my mind. For example, one day I thought to myself that the weather had changed for the worse and I must wear my grey coat to go out dog-walking. It was one that I hadn’t worn for months and although I didn’t say anything out loud about my intention, my dog rushed to the place where the coat was hanging amongst lots of other coats and pushed at its hem with her nose.

      • AshiAkira says:

        Your dog may have the ability to sense your brain wave. It is interesting. I wish I had that ability to sense other people’s brain waves. I might better understand them than through words or other means of communication. 🙂 If all of us had that ability, we might be able to know each other’s true thought. Then the world might be a much better place to live in—or much worse—I wonder. 🙂 🙂

      • I think maybe it might make things worse. It wouldn’t allow time for people to get their heads in order and tick themselves off for a hurtful thought. Such broadcasting of spontaneous reactions to things might easily end the world much quicker! Indeed, it’s an extremely fascinating subject.

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, it’s a fascinating subject. And I think you are right also in saying that it might make things worse. Not telling our mind straight may be a way to keep peace. 🙂

  3. meim0 says:

    gracias por compartir vuesro arte y belleza 🙂

  4. Evocative imagery! Thank you, Ashiakira!

Leave a Reply

