Wonder how they grew

Wonder how they grew

Large lemons on the roadside

In a narrow crack

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wonder how they grew

  1. I am continually amazed by nature too.

  2. Heartafire says:

    perfection!

  3. RoSy says:

    Ooooh – I bet that smells soooooo goooood!

  4. gigoid says:

    Ashi-san,

    Excellent!

    Lemons are tough, aren’t they? I’ve seen them bloom and grow fruit though the harshest winters…. I always thought it prophetic, in a way, to note the last remaining fruit tree, cultivated by the Kevin Costner character, in the movie “Waterworld”, was a small lemon/lime tree…

    Small slices of life
    come to mind with each tart sniff.
    Metaphors for life.

    gigoid, the dubious

    😎

    • AshiAkira says:

      I couldn’t even dream of them growing around here. But the reality is I saw them ripe on a tree growing in a tiny area (much less than a foot square yard) of soil. I picked one of them, sliced, and put it in tea. It was a little strong in sourness but also strong in aroma. Really good!

      • gigoid says:

        Serendipity makes for good flavor, yes? The delight of finding it in such an unlikely spot added sweetness to the tea, I would guess…

        I’m reminded that joy and beauty in life can be found in the most unlikely places, and experiences, especially when we aren’t looking for them…

        Take care, my friend…

        gigoid

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes. I can’t agree with you more. Seems to me everything I experience in life is serendipitous, such as making friend with someone on the other side of the globe whom I’ve never met before, etc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

