Birds heard in the trees

Birds heard in the trees

Sounds like exchanging of words

She looks up smiling

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Birds heard in the trees

  1. We were sitting in the garden today listening and smiling at just such an exchange.

  2. Lovely imagery. Was she wearing a wool coat and hat, like she would be here? Did I mention I’m tired of the winter?

    • AshiAkira says:

      Thank you, but I don’t remember what she was wearing except her smile. Yes, you did mention you were tired of the winter there. I remember that too. 🙂

      • Do I sound like a whiny child?!!!! I feel like one!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, you do, and I too whine about our weather here (back to winter’s cold again). But we can’t do anything about weather, so we just have to accept and cope with it however it might be. Come to think of, it’s a good thing we can’t change the weather. Suppose we could, what would happen? I’d imagine there would be a tremendous fight among the nations to pick a suitable weather condition to each of them. That would lead to a major world war leaving a large part of us dead. Even if they could agree on one particular type of weather condition, I wonder if a large part of the plants and other creatures that can grow and increase their numbers because of changes in weather conditions can continue to exist. Without those plants and creatures, we won’t have anything to eat and can’t live but die. Sorry if this sounded like a sermon.

      • No, it doesn’t sound like a sermon- it sounds like an intriguing book! You should write it! I love your view on this. Acceptance is such a peaceful state of mind. I’m drawing a deep breath and letting go of things I can’t change. My sweet niece just posted on Facebook a picture of her two year old daughter – remember Violet? This Sunday marks the 2 year anniversary of her sudden death. Life continues on. The weather is lousy and then it changes. One must be grateful for the good things. Like friendships such as yours!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Two years already? Of course I remember her. I remember a woman passerby found a violet blooming in a most unlikely place for it to grow – at the bottom of a downtown street tree. It must have been such a pleasant surprise for her to find the flower there, she couldn’t help telling other people nearby, including myself, of it. I wrote about it and posted to my blog. Just then, you told me of the sudden death of the girl named Violet. You say that the second anniversary of her death falls on this Sunday. If it’s April 12, it happens to be my birthday. I’ve already had more than enough birthdays of my own and I didn’t give much attention to it two years ago. But it is another coincident, isn’t it?

      • Yes. It is! I read your wonderful haiku at her service and it moved her mom and dad so much! Amber got it tattooed on her shoulder! Life ebbs and flows doesn’t it? I’m glad you get to celebrate another birthday. I know you had your own health scare a few years ago. Hope you are well and a Happy Birthday to you!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, life really ebbs and flows. So fast too. Another birthday comes around so quickly. Thank you, I’m well now. I was very close to the end of my life then, but my asthma has since been under perfect control by medication. Smoking was the most probable cause of it. I used to smoke when I was young simply because I thought it looked cool to have a cigarette dangling from the lips. I didn’t realize it was so dangerous and I hope people who smoke know about it.

      • I was so sorry when my oldest daughter began smoking last summer. So sad! Such an awful habit and so hard to quit! I think young people sometimes overestimate the cost to their bodies. I’m glad you are well.

      • AshiAkira says:

        When I was of your daughter’s age, I thought I would be healty and live forever whatever I did. Too bad we can look at our own lives only backward. I hope your daughter would listen to you.

      • Yes, they don’t understand! I wish she would listen to me too, but she’s on that time of life when she has to tune out her parents. I have hope though, as she’s a smart person. She’ll figure it out!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, I’m sure the time will come when she’ll figure it out for herself.

      • Sooner than later I hope!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, of course.

  3. RoSy says:

    That’s me! 😀

Leave a Reply

