Flowers on the sidewalk

Flowers on the sidewalk

Some on the curb some walking

Flutter in spring breeze

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Flowers on the sidewalk

  1. I’m breathing in your spring breeze and living for that moment when it comes to Vermont too!

    • AshiAkira says:

      March marches on. Spring has turned the corner and is facing you now. You can soon jump out with your arms up to take a deep breath.

      • I can jump- but I would land in a huge snow bank! It will be another 2 months before it’s all gone and the crocuses can pop out of the ground- if they aren’t dead. Officials worry that our deep freeze may have damaged many plants. This winter broke records for cold!
        Keep writing about spring and warm air and flowers- I’ll live vicariously through you!

      • AshiAkira says:

        They say we talk about the weather but we don’t do anything about it. Is it because we can’t that we don’t? But obviously you can by living vicariously. It’s still cold here too and I’m shivering. But people have started counting days before the cherry blossoms burst in full bloom. Ours is an island country stretching from down south to up north, and the flowers more or less start blooming from the southern tip. In the weather forecast they will soon begin to draw lines, called “flower front.” On the weather map to indicate where and when the people can expect the flowers. That’s the “flower forecast.”
        You can’t change the weather. You can simply accept it as it is. But as you said you can live vicariously to be happy. After all that’s how we write novels, poems or whatever. Spring is a promise that has never been broken.

      • Your comment touched me. You are so right about accepting that Whig we can’t change. I love knowing about your “flower forecast”. What a wonderful image! I think it’s easy to become jaded- we shut down because we have to in order to cope with the difficulties winter brings.
        But I tell my daughters- look at the sun! It’s cold outside- way below freezing yet the sun has enough power to melt the snow.
        I take hope from the fact that we are on the back side of winter. We have summer to look forward to.
        I appreciate your positive outlook. And love your last line, spring is a promise and one I will hold on to.
        Be well, my friend, and thank you for the beautiful comment.

  2. It has always been a wonder to me how many little pieces of plant growth survive through sidewalk cracks and curb abutments. They seem in defiance of human footsteps. I suppose it is good to see nature win now and then.

  3. Aliosa says:

    Buna dimineata , Domnule ” AshiAkira” !
    La Multi Ani de 8 Martie,
    MAMELOR din familia dumneavoastra ! 🙂

    Cu respect,
    Aliosa.

  4. Heartafire says:

    I love the ambiguity of this haiku…lovely!

    • AshiAkira says:

      Flowers running? I often wonder what I meant by what I wrote after I’d written. Most of the times I’d just write down words that come to my mind as they come. Maybe I took something else that was running at that time for flowers.

  5. Rachael Charmley says:

    Love the improbability of this. Very clever – and made me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

