Grapefruits grew and ripened

Grapefruits grew and ripened

From a spat out forgotten seed

Closed eyes to sweet taste

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Grapefruits grew and ripened

  1. Manja says:

    Unbelievable. There is no end to your talent, is there?

    • AshiAkira says:

      Thank you for such a kind comment.
      As for the grapefruits, yes, it is unbelievable. But it is true that they are ripening right now in sleet and snow. I believe Japan started to import grapefruits about 40 years ago, then mostly from Israel and they were rather expensive. About 20-30 years ago, I planted a few seeds of the fruit after I ate it in a small flowerpot just for a fun of it. One of them came out and started growing. I changed it to a larger pot and it kept growing and I eventually had to re-plant it in the ground. Now it’s about 4-5 meters high bearing lots of grapefruits. They aren’t exactly so sweet as those you might get nowadays. But I think of the old sourness of the grapefruits of those days, and it’s a very sweet memory.

      • Manja says:

        Thank you for planting a poetic thought of Japan in my mind. My only experience of your country came courtesy of Narita while on a stop over to Australia. They’d singled me out from all the other passengers, looked at my ticket, saw I’d flown in from Amsterdam, and proceeded to search me. Thoroughly.
        Ha! I carried no grapefruit on me.

      • AshiAkira says:

        I’m so sorry to hear about what happened to you at the airport. But, believe me, It’s not the first time to hear about the discourtesy of the Japanese immigration officials not only at Narita but many other places here. One American gentleman I used to know here once said to me that he was about to jump over the counter to “break his neck” of a discourteous official. Not only the immigration officials, but those of other public offices are also notorious. Some police, for example, are not exception. They have quota of works, and how well they satisfy it would reflect on their bonuses. Some cops may create a pretext for dragging docile looking innocent pedestrians into a police box for questioning and completing report to submit to their superiors to show they have worked hard. I know this because I myself was once victimized by them. Making a long story short, I was dragged into a police station for having a 4cm (yes the size of the little finger) pocket knife on my key ring, and I was under what I’d say is a psychological torture for questioning on suspicion of carrying a dangerous weapon with the intention of hurting someone. I hope you won’t think all the Japanese are like the Narita immigration officials who gave you the bad treatment.

      • Manja says:

        No worries. The ‘neck breaking’ urge is a universal one. Civil servants and neck breaking kind of go hand in hand. See, it is One World after all, haha! Not much better here. But we get away with insulting officials. Legally you’re safeguarded from prosecution when you precede your insult with ‘in my opinion…’. That’s freedom of speech, you see. 😀
        Hope you got to keep your pocket knife!

      • AshiAkira says:

        Yes, we are in One World, sadly including our next door neighbor where just a hint of criticizing the authority, not to speak of the “neck breaking,” is subjected to death penalty. As you say I’m safeguarded by saying “in my opinion,” and maybe I should thank our authority for that. But the situation here was not much different here from our neighbor only until 70 years ago. I hope we are not back sliding.
        Regarding my pocket knife (black one half the size of the regular Swiss knife), it’s got a tremendous sentimental value to me. I hope it’s safely kept in the police strong box with other “evidence.”

      • Manja says:

        Sorry to hear you must go through life knifeless. I guess you peel your grapefruit? 😀

      • AshiAkira says:

        I refuse to eat grapefruit any more. My silent resistance. 🙂

      • Manja says:

        Bless you 🙂

      • AshiAkira says:

        Same to you. 🙂

  2. Bastet says:

    Nice … very very nice!

  3. I love your work, Ashi. Do you publish them?

  4. I can taste it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

