Violets among weeds

Violets among weeds

A woman noticed and stopped

Then left with a smile

About AshiAkira

AshiAkira. Author of Haiku Poems (www.lulu.com/shop/ashi-akira/haiku-poems/paperback/product-23152158.html). Old resident of Tokyo. 葦享(あしあきら)、著書(1)「伊奈葉くんアメリカを見る」、(2)「伊奈葉さん日本を憂う」(中央公論事業出版)
This entry was posted in Haiku. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Violets among weeds

  1. RoSy says:

    Flowers always make me smile too 🙂

  2. melanietoulouse says:

    I’ve had plenty of violettes de Toulouse this spring… their fresh petals are spread over a mixed classy salad… 🙂

  3. Susan Bahr says:

    I’m sorry I haven’t been by for a while – we had two family deaths last Friday. One of them was a child named Violet. So, I’ll say to you – this sweet haiku reminds me of her.
    She always brought a smile.

    • AshiAkira says:

      I missed you. I’m sorry to hear the very sad news about your family. It was last Friday when I was waiting in my car for my wife to come out of a building across the street. A woman came out following my wife and she suddenly stopped to see something in the weeds along the sidewalk. She smiled and walked over to our car and said, “Some violets in those wild weeds,” and she walked away. There are no wild violets around here. To me it’s a mystery how their seeds came there and grew to bloom. I wish I could send some of them to Violet’s grave.

  4. seeker says:

    Violets are so pretty regardless of weeds.

  5. Susan Bahr says:

    We are celebrating little Violet this weekend – I was wondering if you would allow me to print a copy of your haiku to give to her parents? I will let them know it came from you.

    • AshiAkira says:

      Of course, please do. I’m tremendously honored if you do that. I don’t know what made that woman take the trouble of walking across the street to tell us there were violets blooming in the weeds. They were so cute and beautiful. I had not met Violet. But please tell her parents I pray that she rest in peace.

  6. Susan Bahr says:

    Reblogged this on Letters To Rosa and commented:
    sending my love to my niece and her fiance this weekend. sending my thanks to Ashi Akira for this sweet and wonderful Haiku.

  7. Donna D says:

    I was at the celebration of little Violets short life and was so touched to hear the story and Haiku and how it came to be,. Children are so present in the moment ,( where God is), and I feel to be so observant and creative is also where God is. Violet truly is touching lives around the world…Thank you for the Haiku and allowing it to be part of Violets celebration of life.

    • AshiAkira says:

      Thank you for the comment. It was on a Friday that I saw the violets. I was so impressed by seeing the flowers in such an unexpected place that I wrote the haiku poem. Then Susan wrote a comment saying she had two family deaths – one of them a child named Violet – on the same Friday (though we have the time difference of about 12 hours). It could be a simple coincidence. But many coincidences have happened in my life to help save me from various difficulties – sometimes even from the danger of death. (The latest of them happened last December and I wrote a “story-poem” about it and posted it on my blog, too.) Such coincidences occurred so often to me that now I tend to believe the coincidences were not coincidences but there was some “power” that controlled the incidences to happen. Thus the death of Violet and my seeing the violets on the same day could be under the control of that power so that there may be more people even from the other side of the globe who pray for the repose of the soul of Violet in spite of such an untimely death. I really pray that she rest in peace.

      • Susan Bahr says:

        thank you for this incredibly thoughtful response – I will make sure Donna knows you posted it. She is one of little Violet’s great-aunts. The ceremony was sweet and wonderful and impossibly horrid. I feel so heartbroken for that young couple.
        I put your haiku on the cover of the program. Violet’s mom and dad loved it so much.
        thank you again, Ashi. I hope and pray she rests in peace, too.

  8. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    I appreciate your time to visit and like my post ( the L.A. Times.) .Your blog is very interesting .l will follow to read your new posts.My warm regards.jalal

  9. generaliregi says:

    where have you been hiding?, i always enjoy reading what you write.wonderful piece. thanx

  10. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Flowers are the essence of appreciation any time for any occasion.Thank you for liking my post ( Loving my woman…) Have a wonderful day.jalal

  11. A lovely vignette! : )

  12. Mustang.Koji says:

    You’re pretty good at Haiku!

  13. Yes…there is always at least one violet to help us believe in JOY…lovely poem!

  14. Haiku-esenţă de spirit Zen.
    Ca de la suflet la suflet,
    Frumuseţea-Femeia vede frumosul violetelor
    Şi-i adresează esenţa de suflet- zâmbetul!
    Sublim! 🙂
    Onu

  15. Lovely! Beautiful to say so much with so few words. 🙂

  16. damemiracle says:

    Bon poème, j’ai bien aimé te lire, merci,

    Gigi

Leave a Reply

